Traditional Advertising – Step Aside

I’ve been saying this a lot to people.  Social media allows people to step back from advertising.

It really is much more about word of mouth now.  That means you want to get your message to the people and they’ll help you sell your product or service. I’m not naive. I know that for the big top tier companies they can still ride on the momentum of their size. Basically, they can continue to suck. However, for smaller companies, social media is a gold mine that they can tap into for a modest sum and market their products and services.

The problem is for big money advertising is it’s turning their industry on its head because we don’t have to listen. We can skip commercials or, if you’re like me, you can watch very little TV at all. When I do, I almost always mute the commercials or walk out of the room. Other times, I watch shows via Hulu.com and, yes, they have ads but you can choose what you want to see, and I’ve usually got multiple windows running anyway. The commercial plays, I click over to another website, I ignore it and click back over to watch the show. I remember watching TV with my parents when I was little, but I’ve never experienced anything like that since.

It’s rare that we gather around the TV or radio as a group anymore. Society along with technology has changed. I can’t say that I feel sorry for advertising though because I never liked the idea of big companies spending big money trying to trying to tell me what I needed.

Well, it looks like there is a clever investment banker here in NYC who has a knack for blending a melody with a turn of a phrase. A friend of mine Cindy Perman wrote about it today for CNBC and, yep, I’m taking it and blogging about it because I think it’s timely and it proves me right!

Ad Execs Cursing ‘Tilman the Skateboarding Dog’

To illustrate their plight, Terry Kawaja, an investment banker with a knack for a jingle, has turned his talents on Madison Avenue.You might know him best from his first YouTube sensation,“Wall Street Meltdown.”

In “Mad Avenue Blues,” set to the tune of Don McLean’s “American Pie,” Kawaja (who goes by the pen name L. McDuff) offers a toe-tapping tale of how the rise of digital media has pulled the rug out from traditional advertising.

Kawaja does a masterful job of working wonky business words like “I/O form” and “ROI” into melodic lyrics, while telling a substantive story about how Madison Avenue went from a golf-swinging, fast-car driving club to a victim of the digital revolution.

At 9 min, 21 sec, it’s a tad long, but it’s clever enough to hold your attention and soon you’ll find yourself singing along to the refrain:

Bye Bye those big upfront buys
Pitched my client who was pliant
But the pitch didn’t fly
And old ad boys were drinking martinis dry
Singing “Tech has taken us for a ride.”
Algorithms got me cross-eyed.

For me, it is a tad long as I got the point within the first minute.

However, I like it because it proves what I and many others have been saying: word of mouth is back. And thank goodness that it is because it levels the playing field a bit.

Leave a Reply

